28th January 2011 – Always Open

Long ago in England shops opened at 9:00 hrs and closed at: 17:00 hrs. They closed early (half a day) on one weekday and were never open on a Sunday.

This is no longer the case in urban areas. I have mixed views on how good this is.

“We belabour, I think, under a very heavy crust of consumerism really.”  – Emma Thompson

Now a bit about the picture.

I like lines and here is another one with lots of them.

Generally, I shoot with a UV filter on my lens during the day. I kept it on this time to show the effect when street lighting is on. This can be seen by looking at the two blue lines of light stretching across the roof of the supermarket.

The terms for this effect is ‘lens glare’.

Leave a Reply

