18th December 2010 – Falling Snow

 Click on image to enlarge

In this picture I was trying to capture the falling snow.  Thankfully the fence panels help to make the snow flakes stand out. On the technical side here are two important camera settings; shutter speed – 1/40 sec and aperture -F5.6.

On the right side of the image is the now dormant grapevine that I shot on one of my postings

I had some success, but am always on the lookout for ways to improve my technique. So all comments and advice is greatly received.

Quote of the Day: “Snow and adolescence are the only problems that disappear if you ignore them long enough.” – Earl Wilson

2 thoughts on “18th December 2010 – Falling Snow

  1. Good shot! Finding a dark background was a good idea for making the snow show up nicely. I don’t have much experience yet photographing falling snow (it takes a lot of motivation to get me to go out in the snow), so unfortunately I can’t give you any advice…. but I like what you’ve done here! On an earlier post about the weather, our weather here in Michigan is almost as unpredictable!! We go from Arctic cold temperatures, with biting wind chills in the winter – to 95+ degrees (F) with 100% humidity in the summer!!

Leave a Reply

